DIY Hairspray

I am definitely a hair spray girl. I have lots of fly-aways which drive me nuts so I always spray the top of my head before I leave the house. I have slowly been transitioning from store-bought personal care products to all-natural home-made products but I have been reluctant to get rid of my trusty aerosol can.

I finally made the switch the other day when I realized that every time I spray that stuff, I also breathe in all the chemicals in it at the same time. It seemed a tad hypocritical that here I am being so careful about the products I am putting in and on my body and then at the same time I am inhaling a bunch of chemicals that the good guide confirmed are definitely not safe for consumption.

I found quite a few hairspray recipes online but I chose to use lemongrass essential oil because it adds a nice sheen to my hair!

lemongrasshairspray

My Recipe:

1 Tsp. Vodka

1 Tbsp. Sugar

1/2 Cup Distilled Water

5 Drops Lemongrass Essential Oil

1. Boil the water and add the sugar. Stir until the sugar has disintegrated.

2. Wait until the water has cooled for a few minutes and add the vodka and essential oil.

3. Pour into an empty spray bottle and that’s it!

Leave a Reply

