Tea Tree and Honey Face Wash

I’m quickly running out of Cetaphil so I decided that it’s time to experiment with making my own natural face wash. It’s a little nerve-racking because I have sensitive skin and I also use a prescription cream for acne. I need something that is super super mild and up until now, Cetaphil has been my absolute favorite.

But… now that I have been starting to make all of my own personal care products, I am pretty confident that I will be able to make a great substitute at home.

This is my first attempt and so far, it’s working out pretty well!

honeygreenteafacewash

Honey Green Tea Face Wash

3/4 Cup Green Tea (Use distilled water)

1 Tbsp. Baking Soda

2 Tbsp. Witch Hazel (I got mine at Sprouts or you can buy here)

2 Tbsp. Raw Honey

1 Tbsp. Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap (I used Peppermint which you can find at Trader Joes)

15 Drops of Tea Tree Oil (I love this brand)

5 Drops Peppermint Essential Oil (buy here)

1 Tsp. Xanthan Gum (You can find Bob’s Red Mill brand almost anywhere)

A blender or food processor

greenteaingredients

I know it seems like this is a lot of different ingredients that are slightly difficult to come by, they are staples in every single product I am making right now. It seemed expensive at first but I use very small amounts of each product in my recipes so they last for a very long time and make tons of batches.

1. Combine hot green tea and honey. Let the honey dissolve before adding it to the blender.

2. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend together.

3. Pour into a container with pump and enjoy!

Note: The mixture does get very foamy. But I think the foam works just as well as a face wash as the liquid mixture:)

I’ll update after I have used this mixture for a few months:)

Leave a Reply

